Car insurance florida

The combination of Florida’s no-fault laws, subtropical weather, and high percentage of elderly drivers make it the fourth most expensive state for auto insurance. And while most residents end up paying almost $50 more than the national average every month, my research indicates that there are hundreds of dollars in potential savings just waiting to be found — and all it takes is a bit of comparison shopping to find the best car insurance option for you.

When I applied for the the state’s minimum coverage, I found that I could save $1,250 a year just by picking the right insurance company. Of the five quotes I got, State Farm was the best option for me at $1,274. Progressive followed closely behind at $1,356. Just because these two companies were the cheapest for me doesn’t mean they’ll be the cheapest for you, though. Getting auto insurance quotes is an insanely customized process, and I’d be a fool to recommend one company as the best for everyone.

The factors that influence how much auto insurance companies will charge you include your age, marital status, driving history, and even your ZIP code. On top of that, each insurer weighs those factors differently. So the best strategy for finding cheap car insurance insurance will always be to compare quotes — and I’d suggest getting at least five.

Expect to spend no more than 10 minutes getting each quote. You’ll probably have most of the general information committed to memory, but there are few things you might need to pull from your vehicle, like its make, model, configuration, and average annual mileage. After that, you’ll check some boxes, click a few buttons, and voila, you’ll have yourself a quote. (And if you really want to knock ‘em out, grab your vehicle’s VIN number that is listed on your proof of insurance — it’ll save time both on the phone and online.)

The state of Florida requires every vehicle with four or more wheels maintain Florida Auto Insurance coverage. When you register your vehicle you must have proof of Florida coverage. The minimum requirement is $10,000 personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 property damage liability (PDL).

If you have been in a crash or convicted of certain offenses, the Florida DMV can request you purchase additional auto insurance coverage such as bodily injury liability coverage (BIL).

Finding the Best Florida Auto Insurance Rates

It is important to shop around for the best rates for Florida Auto Insurance. There are many online resources that will provide free quotes that have licensed Florida insurer policies and are approved by the Florida DMV.

Florida Car Insurance Details

In addition to PIP (Personal Injury Protection), PDL (Property Damage Liability), and BIL (Bodily Injury Liability) insurance coverage, Florida auto insurance companies will also offer optional coverages such as collision, comprehensive, and uninsured and underinsured motorists coverage.

The insurance rate you are given is based on many factors including your driving record, your age, where you live, and the kind of car you drive. If you drivers license is in good status you will be eligible for better rates and if you live in a busy the city your insurance rates will be higher than smaller, less congested towns. Auto insurance providers do not figure their rates the same way so you will receive different rates for the same driver.

PIP or Personal Injury Protection

PIP or Personal Injury Protection insurance covers your injury-related expenses regardless of who was at fault in the accident. Covered benefits include some compensation for necessary medical expenses, lost wages, lost services, and funeral expenses.

Switch & Save on auto insurance! Get your fast, free Esurance quote in 6 minutes or less.

BIL or Bodily Injury Liability Insurance

BIL or Bodily Injury Liability insurance is required for certain drivers. Drivers with previous accidents or violations may be required to carry this type of coverage. This coverage helps pay for serious or permanent injury or death to others when you cause a crash with your automobile. Bodily injury liability (BIL) carries a minimum of 10/20. This means the insurance company will pay out $10,000 per person for injuries you cause to the other party but not more than $20,000 total.

Moving to Florida? You would either be really well prepared, or lost among all the matters that require your attention. At CoverHound, we know that moving out of state can be a hassle, so we have prepared for you some useful information about auto insurance in Florida.

State Minimum

A common misconception about auto insurance minimum coverage is that, it is the same for all states. That is not true. Auto insurance in Florida only requires you to have Personal Injury Protection (PIP). However, it is highly recommended to get a minimum liability coverage of $10,000/$20,000 for bodily injury and $10,000 for property damage to protect yourselves from lawsuits. It is a benefit to understand what are the changes to your minimum coverage when moving states.

SR22

SR22 is a Certificate of Financial Responsibility (CFR) — isn’t a type of car insurance, but a verification that you’re maintaining car insurance liability coverage. You would be required to possess a SR22 if you are caught driving without insurance, driving under influence (DUI), committing repeat traffic offenses or if you get too many tickets within a short period of time. At CoverHound, SR22 typically costs between $15-$25 in Florida.

It is also important to check if your current SR22 is valid in FL. It may be waived because you have met regulations enforced by the state that you were previously in, and an affidavit is most commonly required in order to get the waiver. However, you may also be required to receive a new SR22 based upon Florida’s financial responsibility laws.

Personal Injury Protection

Auto insurance in Florida requires policyholders to have $10,000 coverage for PIP. The $10,000 PIP only covers the Named Insured, but speak to your insurance agents if you wish to purchase PIP for your passengers.

Other Useful Tips

When moving states, it is important to make sure that you are continuously insured. Cancel your auto insurance only after you have obtained new coverage in Florida. It is also important to ensure that your current auto insurance is valid in FL and most states have up to 90 days for you to register your vehicle.

If you have existing tickets, DUIs and claims in the last 5 years, it is important to be honest with the insurance agents when purchasing a new policy. Unfortunately, moving states does not grant you a clean slate as your driving history is tagged to you even after you have moved to Florida.

No Fault State

Florida is one of the twelve states that are “no fault states”. So what is a no fault state? It means that in an accident, none of the parties involved will be at fault. Your automobile insurer will pay the medical bills for you and your companions independent of who was at fault for the accident.

The complexity of the insurance industry can really be mind boggling but at CoverHound, our dedicated agents are here to guide you through this process.

Florida requires you to buy the least auto insurance of any state in the nation, which might sound like a great deal for its drivers. But having less coverage always means you carry more risk, and that’s especially true in the Sunshine State, for several reasons. For starters, Florida is one of a dozen states with “no-fault” insurance laws, meaning that each driver’s insurance pays for his or her own damages after an accident. This means that even if you cause a crash, your policy covers medical expenses for yourself and your passengers — but only up to the limits you set. If you’re not at fault, you can potentially sue the other driver for damages beyond what your insurance covers, but given that more than a quarter of Florida motorists are uninsured, it’s not certain how much you’ll be able to recover. Comprehensive insurance, which covers non-accident claims, is also a smart idea in a state that ranks fourth nationally in insurance losses from disasters like hurricanes. The bottom line is that purchasing only Florida’s state minimums leaves you open to financial headaches at best, and a devastating financial hit at worst.

Florida Minimum Liability

Florida only requires that you buy two types of auto insurance. The first is personal injury protection (PIP), which automatically pays for up to 80 percent of the medical expenses for you and your passengers after a crash, regardless of who was at fault. PIP also covers 100 percent of “replacement services,” should you or your passengers need help with daily household tasks because of your injuries, and 60 percent of your wage losses if you’re unable to work. The second type of required insurance is property damage (PD) liability coverage, which pays for damages to other people’s property if you’re the one at fault. The minimum levels can be expressed in the shorthand 10/20/10, which means the following:

  • $10,000 personal injury protection (PIP) coverage per person
  • $20,000 personal injury protection (PIP) coverage per accident
  • $10,000 property damage (PD) coverage per accident

While these amounts do offer some protection, there are many cases in which they wouldn’t fully cover you. Imagine you take your eyes off the road for a second, and cause a collision with a luxury car. If you’re seriously injured and have to take time off work, $10,000 of PIP probably won’t cover all the losses you incur from medical bills and lost wages. Likewise, you might have caused more than $10,000 worth of damage to the other car — a problem if you only had Florida’s minimum PD coverage. And importantly, if the other driver sues you for medical bills beyond what his own PIP covers, you’ll have to pay those out of pocket unless you had bodily injury (BI) liability coverage, which isn’t required in Florida.

But let’s say you weren’t the one at fault — there are still risks to carrying only Florida’s minimums. If your damages are more than your $10,000 PIP covers, there’s no guarantee the other driver will have liability insurance to make up the rest — or any auto insurance at all. In a situation like that, having uninsured motorist (UM) coverage on your policy would take the place of the other driver’s missing coverage, paying for your additional medical costs and the damage to your vehicle. It could be the only thing standing between you and a huge bill you don’t deserve. That’s why it’s a good idea to buy as much insurance as you can afford. (For more information on the various types of coverages, check out the Florida Department of Financial Services’ Automobile Insurance Toolkit.)

Your premium cost depends largely on personal factors: your age, credit score, how much you drive, and the type of vehicle you’re insuring, among other things. But because different providers will charge the same person more or less for the same coverage, the only way to find your cheapest rate is to compare personalized quotes. Still, there are many other important factors besides price, making our reviews of Florida’s top five auto insurers a good place to begin your search.

Florida Auto Insurance Reviews

GEICO

Judging by its hefty 22.8 percent market share in the state, many Floridians already agree with our assessment of GEICO as the best overall insurer we researched. Not only did it have the lowest rate of 2017 customer complaints among our top picks, but it also quoted the cheapest premiums for all three of our hypothetical drivers. We didn’t even take discounts into account, though GEICO has the most of those too — including one of up to 15 percent for being a good student.

In terms of claims satisfaction, J.D. Power had GEICO at the top (along with State Farm, Allstate and Progressive), and Consumer Reports readers rated it better than any insurer except State Farm, which tied it. To top it all off, GEICO boasts the best financial strength ratings out of all five companies we looked at. The only drawback to GEICO (and it’s hardly even worth mentioning) is that it doesn’t offer so-called “gap” coverage designed to negate the effects of depreciation if you total a new car.

State Farm

Even though State Farm offered us some of the most expensive quotes of any insurer, it outperformed every company except GEICO in both complaint comparison and customer service scoring by J.D. Power and Consumer Reports. That record, along with its top-tier financial strength, was enough for us to justify ranking it second. Still, the State Farm quotes we received were quite a bit higher than GEICO’s and Allstate’s — typically by 2–3 times. That’s likely a dealbreaker for many, but it’s still worth checking State Farm’s personalized quotes yourself, especially if you’re a teen driver (for which they seem to offer more discounts than the others). Another point in State Farm’s favor is its website, which is good at helping you understand which coverages best fit your specific needs.

Allstate

Allstate was cheaper than every company but GEICO in our quote comparison, and practically even with the ratings for GEICO and State Farm for claims satisfaction. Its financial strength, while not quite top-tier, is also good enough that you’ll never have to worry about getting paid. Still, we couldn’t help but notice its comparatively high rate of consumer complaints in 2017. Given that the most common consumer complaint is that payment is too low, perhaps Allstate is stingier in its claims determinations than other Florida insurers.

If you’re insuring a brand new car, Allstate does offer so-called “gap” insurance designed to negate the effects of depreciation — something State Farm and GEICO don’t. And a cheaper premium could mean the difference in whether you can afford comprehensive and/or UM coverage, two especially valuable add-ons in Florida.

Progressive lagged just slightly behind GEICO and State Farm in terms of financial strength, and just a hair behind Allstate for claims satisfaction. The differences are so small they likely have no impact on most customer’s experiences, but nonetheless make it hard to justify Progressive over State Farm, GEICO, or Allstate on the basis of anything except price, where it was average. We did like how easy it was to get a quote through the website though, and also the Live Chat option, something only it and GEICO offer.

Progressive has a slew of available discounts — more than any insurer we reviewed except GEICO. There’s even one for adding a newly licensed teen driver to your existing auto policy (surprising given that teenage drivers are among the riskiest to insure). A policy loaded with discounts isn’t necessarily cheaper than a non-discounted policy, but the bottom line is you should get a quote from Progressive and see for yourself.

Liberty Mutual

Liberty Mutual has the smallest market share out of our top five, with just over 3 percent of Florida drivers. While it was fairly close in customer satisfaction, J.D. Power gave Liberty Mutual the lowest “overall” score among our top picks, and Consumer Reports readers were less impressed by its “Timely Payment” (or lack thereof) than they were by the competition’s. The company’s financial strength, while high enough to be trusted, was also fifth out of five companies we reviewed. More damaging was its 2017 complaint ratio, which was more than 4 times higher (worse) than the fourth-place Allstate’s.

Our quote comparison also showed Liberty Mutual to be the most expensive option for all three driver profiles. This basically cemented its place at the bottom of our pack, but it’s always worth getting a quote in case you fit a specific insurer’s “sweet spot” — the driver profile for whom they offer the cheapest rates around.

A note on USAA

We only compared insurers that sell policies to the general public, but if you have a military connection (as many Floridians do), USAA is another excellent choice for auto insurance. It actually topped all the other companies we reviewed in both financial strength and claims satisfaction. So if you or a family member is active or former military, you should absolutely get a quote from USAA.

Florida reformed its “no-fault” auto insurance laws in 2012 in an attempt to curb fraud.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage, one of the two types of auto insurance mandated by “no-fault” states such as Florida, was originally conceived as a way reduce costs and delays in claims-paying. The idea was that insurance companies could simply pay their customers’ claims without having to go back and forth between the parties and law enforcement to determine fault, which costs more time and money. In practice, however, PIP coverage became the target of abuse by dishonest doctors who billed for unnecessary and expensive medical procedures. In 2012, the Florida legislature passed HB 119, designed to cut down on the fraud plaguing the system. Among its most essential changes were A) a requirement that injured drivers and their passengers seek initial medical treatment within 14 days of the incident, and B) a PIP limit for medical care of $2,500 in cases where the injured person does not require emergency medical attention. The new law has apparently been successful in its first 5 years, leading to a small decrease in the price of PIP coverage in the state.

Floridians pay some of the highest auto premiums in the country, and rates are increasing — particularly in South Florida.

The U.S. Dept. of Labor estimates that auto insurance premiums have increased by 16 percent nationally over the last two years as roads have become more crowded with increasingly distracted drivers. Experts cite smartphone use behind the wheel as a prime factor in more crashes, which have led to more claims and higher costs for insurers, and higher premiums for consumers — especially in densely populated areas like South Florida. According to data from the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, the number of motor vehicle crashes increased 15 percent statewide between 2014 and 2016, more than three times as fast as the state’s population rate grew during that time. Hurricane Irma also contributed to a boost in insurance losses in 2017. All this means that even drivers with spotless records are being asked to pay more in premiums. There’s also an unfortunate byproduct of more drivers going uninsured (26.7 percent in 2016), which pressures risk-averse policyholders to add uninsured motorist coverage.

There are so many factors at play when you start talking about the best car insurance you can find. Rates and services can vary wildly depending on your own personal history and preferences and even the area in which you live.

Plus, it’s not just about the lowest rate you can find. It’s just as important to ensure that you have reliable coverage when you need it, don’t wind up with a sky-high deductible that breaks the bank, and get good customer service. All of these factor in when looking for the “best” auto insurance in Florida.

Today, we are going to explore everything you need to know about Florida car insurance. We’ll go over your state’s requirements for coverage (and what happens if you break them), the factors that are likely to influence your cost of premiums, and which company is going to treat you the best.

We’ve spent hours poring over the data to bring you what we believe is the most comprehensive auto insurance article for the state of Florida. By the time you’re done reading, you should know exactly what you need, how much you’ll pay, and where to buy it. Let’s get started.

Our Top 5 Picks for the Best Car Insurance in Florida

The next time you’re looking for auto insurance in the Sunshine State, you may be overwhelmed by the number of options available to you. Luckily, we took the time to evaluate the providers to see how they measured up against one another.

Keep in mind that your rates and experience may vary. Much of this depends on the coverage you choose, your personal driving record, your credit, and even your location.

Based on our research and consumer ratings, here are our top picks for your next auto insurance policy:

  • Best Overall Satisfaction: USAA
  • Best Customer Service: Allstate
  • Lowest Premiums: Hanover or Allied
  • Great If You Have a Perfect Record: Hanover
  • Best If You Have a Less-Than-Perfect Record: Infinity

Florida Auto Insurance Requirements

Each state has its own legal requirements for auto insurance. Here’s a look at the minimums in the state of Florida, which is a No-Fault state, in regards to both bodily injury and property damage liability coverage.

In Florida, bodily injury coverage is called PIP, or personal injury protection. This coverage protects the policyholder/driver, their family, and their passengers. This is different from the liability coverage other states require (to cover other drivers in case an accident is your fault).

Property damage liability pays for any damages you may cause to someone else’s property. This could include other vehicles, as well as buildings, structures, or other property.

While you can choose any insurance policy you want from any company you want, you need to ensure that your coverage meets at least these required minimums before driving in the state of Florida.

Cheapest Car Insurance in Florida

Alligators and oranges! What state could be more exciting to visit than fancy Florida? With over 1,250 golf courses, a tropical climate and seemingly endless miles of white-sandy beaches, “The Sunshine State” holds bragging rights for the most popular retirement destination in the country. So whether drivers are setting up shop for the next stage in life, spending a tropical weekend or making Florida their home, CheapCarInsurance.net wants to help. By providing this page of essential car insurance information, Florida drivers can continue to enjoy their sunshine without spending time worrying about auto insurance.

LAWS & REGULATIONS

Protection against tropical storms is a necessary step when driving in the only state that borders both the Gulf of Mexico and the Atlantic Ocean. Vehicle protection is just as important, and to help search out the correct information, listed below are just the facts.

Minimum Requirements for Car Insurance in Florida

  • The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) states that liability coverage is mandatoryfor all vehicles registered in the state.
  • Liability Coverage minimums:
    • $10,000 personal injury protection.
    • $10,000 property damage liability.
  • If a driver fails to maintain current insurance, the DHSMV can suspend driving privileges and vehicle license/registration for up to 3 years. A re-instatement fee ranging from $150 to $500 will be required depending on the number of subsequent offenses.

New Driver Licensing Requirements

  • The Florida DHSMV requires every florida driver to be licensed.
  • Applicants at least 15 years old can obtain a Learner’s Permit. This permit requires that the applicant:
    • Complete and pass a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education Course.
    • Provide a Parental Consent Form signed by a parent or legal guardian.
    • Pass the written, vision and hearing tests.
    • An applicant with a Learner’s Permit may only drive during daylight hours during the first 3 months and until 10 pm after 3 months. The permit holder must always be accompanied by a licensed driver age 21 or older.
  • Applicants ages 16 and 17 who have held a Learner’s Permit for one year with no violations can obtain an Intermediate License. To obtain the Intermediate License, the applicant must:
    • Provide documentation of 50 hours of driving verified by a parent or legal guardian. Included in the 50 hours must be 10 hours of night driving.
    • Pass the road test.
  • Restrictions with this license include:
    • 16 years old – must be accompanied by a licensed driver age 21 to drive during nighttime hours. Can drive alone between the hours of 6 am and 11 pm.
    • 17 years old – may drive alone between the hours of 5 am and 1 am, and my drive between the hours of 1 am and 5 am if accompanied by a licensed driver age 21 or older.
  • Vision Screening. To pass the vision screening, an applicant must meet the following guidelines:
    • Visual acuity of 20/40 with or without corrective lenses.
    • Visual acuity of 20/50 or worse with or without corrective lenses will be referred to a specialist for improvement.
    • Visual acuity of 20/70 may pass if the worse eye is 20/200 or better. Verification is required by a specialist.
    • If blind in one eye, the other eye must have a visual acuity of at least 20/40.
  • Written Test. The written exam tests the applicant’s knowledge of the Florida Driver’s Manual. It consists of 40 multiple-choice questions regarding road rules and 10 questions regarding specific traffic signs.
  • Road Test. Once the visual and written tests are successfully completed, the applicant may proceed to the road test. The vehicle, provided by the applicant, must be insured, registered and safely operable. A licensed driver is required to drive the vehicle to and from the testing site.
    The applicant will be tested in the following areas:

    • Three point turn.
    • Gear shifting (if applicable to the vehicle).
    • Road crossing approach.
    • Observe right-of-way.
    • Straight in parking.
    • Grade parking.
    • Quick stop.
    • Backing.
    • Obey traffic signs and signals.
    • Signal and turn.
    • Passing.
    • Lane management.
    • Following distance.
    • Proper posture.
  • Fees. A regular driver’s license requires the applicant to pay a $48 fee.

DUI/DWI Laws

  • BAC limit: .08 The Florida Driver’s Manual notes that Florida holds a Zero Tolerance Law regarding drivers under the age of 21. It states that if a driver under the age of 21 is stopped and determined to have a BAC of .02 to below .05, he/she will receive a 6 month license suspension. A driver under the age of 21 with a BAC of .05 or higher receives the additional penalty of attending a substance abuse program. Following are the penalties pertinent to Florida DUI/DWI offenses:
  • First Offense:
    • Minimum $500 and maximum $1,000 fine. If the driver has a BAC of .15 or higher and/or accompanied by a minor, the fines are minimum $1,000 and maximum $2,000.
    • Community service of 50 hours.
    • Probation maximum of 1 year.
    • Possible imprisonment of 6 months maximum. If the driver has a BAC of .15 or higher and/or accompanied by a minor, the maximum is 9 months.
    • License revocation of 180 days.
    • DUI school for 12 hours.
    • Possible Ignition Interlock Device (IID) for a maximum of 6 months.
  • Second Offense:
    • Minimum $1,000 and maximum $2,000 fine. If the driver has a BAC of .15 or higher and/or accompanied by a minor, the fines are minimum $2,000 and maximum $4,000.
    • Imprisonment of 9 months maximum.
    • License revocation of 180 days.
    • DUI school for 21 hours.
    • Ignition Interlock Device for a minimum of 1 year.
  • Third Offense:
    • Minimum $2,000 and maximum $5,000 fine. If the driver has a BAC of .15 or higher and/or accompanied by a minor, the fines are a minimum of $4,000.
    • Imprisonment of 12 months maximum.
    • License revocation of 180 days.
    • DUI school for 21 hours.
    • Ignition Interlock Device for a minimum of 2 years.
  • Fourth or Subsequent Offense(s):
    • Minimum $1,000 fine.
    • Imprisonment of 5 years maximum.
    • Permanent license revocation.
    • DUI school (hours unspecified).
    • Ignition Interlock Device for 5 years.

Texting & Driving Laws

Unique Laws

Florida has a wide array of residents, and just as wide an array of interesting laws. For instance, while tying an elephant to a parking meter, be sure to remember that the meter fee must be paid as if the elephant were a vehicle. It is also illegal to sell one’s children, and, not only are drivers required to have a license, so are skateboarders!

STATS

Best Cheap Car Insurance Quotes for Florida

CheapCarInsurance.net Methodology

Car insurance quotes are for one car and one driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 comprehensive and collision deductibles. The hypothetical driver is 40 years old, female, married, employed, a college graduate, and has good credit. She has no moving violations, accidents, claims, or lapse in coverage. The vehicles are assumed to be garaged on premises, used primarily for commuting, and driven 16,000 miles per year. Car insurance quotes include commonly available discounts and are estimates and not guaranteed.

Car Insurance for Florida Drivers

Whether you’re traveling along the Gulf Coast, strolling across Wynwood Art District, or exploring Disney World, experienced Florida drivers want to feel covered while driving. We’ve been protecting AARP members in Florida and their families since 1984, and have earned a reputation for integrity and trust, as well as high customer ratings for claims services. You can count on The Hartford to be there when you need us most.
If you’re looking to get a car insurance quote or just need information about buying car insurance in the state of Florida, you’ve come to the right place.

Car Insurance Benefits Offered to Florida Drivers

Florida drivers could receive valuable car insurance benefits from the AARP® Auto Insurance Program from The Hartford,1 including:
  • Comprehensive Driving Evaluation
  • Lifetime Renewability
  • New Car Replacement§§
  • Accident Forgiveness
  • Disappearing Deductible
  • 24/7 Claim Service

Required Car Insurance Coverages in Florida

Florida state law requires liability car insurance at the following minimum limits:
  • $10,000 for property damage per accident.
  • Basic PIP coverage.

Proof of Car Insurance in Florida

Florida state law requires you to furnish a copy of your car insurance ID card if requested by a police officer or other party if involved in an accident. That’s why it’s a good idea to keep a copy of your car insurance ID card in the vehicle with your registration. For added convenience, Florida is now among the states that will accept an electronic copy of your ID card. With The Hartford’s mobile app, you can store your ID card right on your mobile device. Visit the App Store™ or Google Play™ for more information.

Florida Uninsured Driver Facts

According to a 2012 Insurance Research Council report, 23.8 percent of Florida drivers are uninsured. This is well above the national average of 12.6%.3
The state of Florida does not require drivers to carry uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, but The Hartford offers this coverage which will protect you from financial loss if you are involved in an accident with an uninsured motorist.

Additional Car Insurance Coverages and Benefits Available to Florida Drivers

For added protection, Florida drivers may also be eligible for the following coverages from the AARP Auto Insurance Program from The Hartford:
  • Roadside Assistance
  • Transportation Expense
  • Medical Payments

Staying Safe on Florida Roads

As you travel through Florida, there are a number of safe driving laws meant to protect you on the Florida’s highways and byways. Here are just a few:

Florida Seat Belt Laws:

It is a mandatory law to wear a seat belt while driving the roads of Florida.

Florida Distracted Driving Laws:

Texting while driving is banned for all drivers in the State of Florida.

 Florida Teen Driver Laws:

Getting a driver’s license is a rite of passage for all teenagers, and Florida wants to be sure they stay safe in the process! Florida has implemented graduated licensing laws to ensure that teenagers gain the experience and maturity that’s required to be safe behind the wheel. Graduated licensing laws limit nighttime driving, restrict teen passengers and ensure an adequate amount of supervised driving practice.

We’re happy to help you and fellow Floridians find affordable car insurance to get you driving legal for less¹.

Before you buy auto insurance, it’s important to know Florida’s car insurance laws so you can make sure you’re meeting the legal requirements for your state.

Florida Car Insurance Laws

According to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, Florida’s car insurance laws require all drivers to present proof of liability insurance when they register their vehicle. Florida vehicle owners with cars registered in their name must be able to certify that they have insurance and that it meets state minimum requirements. Florida’s minimum coverage is $10,000 personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 property damage liability (PDL) as long as you have a valid Florida license plate.

Florida Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance

In the state of Florida, it is illegal to drive any motor vehicle without proof of insurance or financial responsibility. The driver must maintain proof of continuous insurance throughout the registration period. The penalties for driving without car insurance in Florida include a reinstatement fee of $150 up to $500 for subsequent violations, and the driver must provide proof of current Florida insurance.

Florida DUI/DWI Laws and Penalties

Florida DUI laws state that drivers with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or more are considered to be driving under the influence. Florida DUI laws also prohibit driving under the influence of controlled substances such as marijuana, cocaine or inhalants.

Florida Penalties for DUI First Conviction

  • Fine – $250 to $500
  • Community Service – 50 Hours
  • Probation – Not more than 1 Year
  • Imprisonment – Not more than 6 Months
  • Imprisonment with BAL of .08 or higher with a minor in the vehicle, not more than 9 months
  • License Revocation – Minimum of 180 days
  • DUI School – 12 Hours

Florida Penalties for DUI Second Conviction

  • Fines of $1,000 to $2,000. For BAL of .15% or higher, or a minor in the car, minimum $2,000 to $4,000.
  • Jail time of not more than 9 months. A BAL of .15% or higher, or driving with a minor in the car, will require up to 12 months*.
  • Vehicle impoundment for 30 days.*
  • Driver’s license suspension/revocation
    • Not within 5 years: 180 days to 1 year
    • Within 5 years: 5 years

Florida law mandates that any driver convicted of a second DUI have an Ignition Interlock device installed in their vehicle.

Florida Cell Phone Driving Laws and Texting While Driving Laws

The state of Florida currently does not have a full ban on cell phone use for all drivers. However, Florida also has a texting while driving ban for all drivers.

Florida SR-22 Insurance Documents

Florida SR-22 insurance documents are required for drivers who have been convicted of driving without auto insurance. An SR-22 form may need to be filed for three years with the DHSMV, showing proof of financial responsibility. This filing is usually required after the suspension of your driving privileges has been lifted. Your insurer can electronically file SR-22 insurance documents to the state of Florida for drivers that are required to keep and show valid auto liability insurance.

Cheap Car Insurance in Florida

If you are looking for cheap car insurance in the Sunshine State, Good2Go Auto Insurance® may be able to help. We help you find low down payments and easy monthly payment options to get you on the road for less.

Get a Florida Car Insurance Quote
from 21st Century Insurance

With warm weather, hundreds of miles of coastline, and attractions like Disney World and Cape Canaveral, it’s easy to spend a lot of time on the road in Florida. The state’s roads and highways pass through some beautiful vacation destinations, including Atlantic coast resort towns like West Palm Beach and Fort Lauderdale. If you’re a nature lover, Everglades National Park at the southern tip of the state is home to some of the country’s most exotic wildlife, including the endangered manatee and Florida panther. Florida’s incredible scenery and laid back vibe make it one of the country’s premier vacation destinations, but millions of people call it home too. If you live in Florida, you’re likely looking for ways to save money so you can spend more on all the Sunshine State has to offer and 21st Century Insurance may be able to help.

When you get a Florida car insurance quote from 21st Century, you may find you’re eligible for one of many car insurance discounts that can save you money.

Florida Car Insurance Quotes and Discounts from 21st Century

21st Century offers a variety of car insurance discounts to fit different age groups and lifestyles in Florida.

For instance, 21st offers a mature driver discount for drivers 55 years or older that complete a driving course recognized by the state. After completion, primary drivers are eligible for the discount for 36 months as long as they have no citations or at fault losses.

21st Century offers discounts to help working families too, so you can store away a little cash for an extra day at the beach with the family. Florida residents who own their own homes can save on their car insurance with 21st’s homeowner discount. Also, if you insure more than one car with 21st you qualify for the multi-car discount/ 21st Century also offers discounts for car safety devices, like airbags and automatic seatbelts, so keeping your family safe can also save you money.

21st Century offers the good student discount for students under the age of 25 who maintain a «B» average or better. Also, Florida drivers under the age of 21 are eligible for a discount if they complete a state recognized driver training course.

When searching for the best Florida car insurance quotes, make sure to get a free online car insurance quote from 21st Century. 21st offers the same great coverage for less in Florida with discounts that can help nearly everyone save money.

And don’t worry, if you’re already a 21st customer, you may already be saving money with one of these discounts. But if you think you’re missing out check your policy details at 21st.com or speak with a representative.

The cost of insuring a car in Florida is one of the highest in the nation, but that doesn’t mean individual consumers’ car insurance premiums need to be high. ValuePenguin conducted a study of auto insurance quotes in the Florida to arm drivers with information in their search for the best rates in the state.

We discovered that car insurance rates can range widely from company to company, even in the same city. For example, our study found that in Jacksonville, FL, one year’s premium at the most expensive company could have paid for almost seven years at the cheapest insurer. This is why to find the best rates, consumers have to shop around. Enter your zip code above now to start shopping for great auto insurance rates among top U.S. insurers in your area, or read more by jumping directly to each section in our study.

  • Which Companies Have the Best Auto Insurance Rates in Florida?
  • Cheap Car Insurance in Florida: by City
  • Best Rated Auto Insurance Companies in FL
  • Cost of Car Insurance in Florida: by City

Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Florida

To find the companies with the best rates in Florida, we reviewed quotes from some of the largest companies for our three policyholder scenarios as a benchmark: a family of four, a married senior couple, and a single 25 year old female across multiple counties.

Acceptance knows what makes a great Florida auto insurance policy: outstanding value for the money and first-rate customer service. We offer value to our customers with a diverse selection of auto insurance products, so you can get the policy that’s right for your needs, including these fundamental types of coverage:

State Requirements

  • Florida requires drivers to carry at least $10,000 of personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 of property damage liability coverage.

Basic Liability Coverage

Drivers in this state are legally required to carry Florida auto insurance with at least the basic property damage liability coverage. This type of insurance covers the other driver’s property in the event of a collision for which you are at fault. Most serious collisions are far more expensive than that though, so it’s a good idea to consider additional coverage.  However, Florida does not require bodily injury liability coverage.  This means that if you are at fault in an accident and the other driver incurs accident-related medical expenses, your insurance would not cover any of it.  Bodily injury liability insurance is highly recommended in Florida so you will be covered in case of an at-fault accident.

Personal Injury Protection

In Florida, all drivers are legally required to purchase personal injury protection, or PIP.  This covers the majority of medical expenses for you and your passengers, regardless of who is at fault in an accident.  This coverage also covers, in part, lost wages, all replacement services such as child car, housekeeping or lawn work.  It also provides a death benefit.

Comprehensive and Collision Coverage

Adding comprehensive and collision protection to your policy is a smart move. A comprehensive and collision policy will cover your property repair and replacement costs following an accident — not just the other driver’s — and you can even add rental car coverage. Comprehensive coverage applies to things like fire, theft, vandalism and other types of damage, as well. If you’re worried about the monthly payments, Acceptance has you covered. You can always choose a higher deductible to lower your policy premiums.

Uninsured Motorist Coverage

If you want to know that you’re covered in the event of an accident, regardless of the other driver’s insurance status, you will need to add uninsured motorist coverage to your Florida auto insurance policy. This type of coverage will protect you from the high costs of medical bills and repairs resulting from collisions with drivers who were not carrying insurance, or who had inadequate coverage for the scope of the damage. Acceptance Insurance offers a range of uninsured motorist coverage to suit your needs.

Florida Car Insurance

Florida law requires residents of FL to have car insurance. You must purchase the minimum coverage amounts for both personal injury protection (PIP) insurance and property damage liability (PDL) car insurance.

Luckily, Florida offsets this coverage requirement by offering some of the lowest car insurance coverage minimums in the country.

Learn more about Florida’s car insurance requirements, the effects of traffic violations on premium costs, and how to get the best quotes on car insurance available.

FL Auto Insurance Requirements

Florida is a no-fault insurance state. If you are injured in an accident, your car insurance will pay your medical costs up to your policy’s limits, regardless of who caused the accident.

The minimum limits for Florida car insurance coverage are:

  • $10,000 of no-fault or personal injury protection (PIP) insurance.
  • $10,000 of property damage liability (PDL) insurance.

Personal Injury Protection

In addition to covering your part of any medical expenses and income loss that result from a car accident, your Personal Injury Protection, or PIP, insurance will also cover:

  • Your child and other members of your household.
  • Your child (when he or she is riding on a school bus).
  • You (when you are a pedestrian or bicyclist involved in a car accident.)
  • Passengers in your car who do not have their own PIP insurance and do not own a car.

Anyone in your car who has PIP car insurance will be covered by his or her own policy if you get in a car accident. Likewise, your PIP car insurance will cover you while you are a passenger in someone else’s car.

Property Damage Liability

Property Damage Liability (PDL) auto insurance in Florida will cover you for damages you cause in a car accident to someone else’s property, such as homes or buildings.

Violation Penalties and Fines

The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) requires your insurance company to electronically notify them if there is a cancellation of your insurance policy.

If the DHSMV has no record of your current car insurance policy, you will be notified by mail. The notification will give you a date of suspension. If you are not able to provide the DHSMV a proof of insurance before the suspension date, your driver’s license, plates, and registration will all be suspended.

To reinstate these, you will have to provide proof of Florida insurance and pay a fee of:

  • $150 for your first offense.
  • $250 for your second offense.
  • $500 for each offense after.

If you are able to provide proof of insurance to the DHSMV before the date of suspension, you will not face any penalties.

If you no longer own the car, surrender your plates and registration to the Florida DHSMV to avoid suspension of your FL driver’s license.

Optional Car Insurance in Florida

While Florida law mandates the minimum amounts of coverage you must purchase, you always have the option of purchasing higher amounts of coverage on your property injury protection and property damage liability coverage.

Also, for those looking for more comprehensive coverage, most Florida car insurance companies will offer the following types ofoptional coverage:

  • Comprehensive – This coverage will pay for damages to your car that do not result from accidents, e.g., scratches to your car’s paint due to vandalism.
  • Collision – This coverage will pay for accident-related damages to your car.
  • Towing and labor.
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist – This coverage will pay for damages incurred by incidents with drivers who do not have insurance.
  • Rental car coverage.

NOTE: While comprehensive and collision coverage policies are not required by Florida law, your lender will require you to purchase both if you are financing your car.

Bodily Injury Liability

One of the major reasons that Florida requires no-fault car insurance is to protect FL drivers from being sued after an accident. However, if you get into an accident, there’s still a chance the victim(s) will sue you, especially if one or more victims suffers severe injury or if there is a fatality.

To help cover you in these cases, you can get Bodily Injury Liability (BIL) car insurance in Florida. If you have BIL coverage and you are found responsible for an accident, this coverage helps to pay for injuries to the victims of that accident, up to the coverage limits of the policy.

Bodily injury liability coverage will even help pay for the cost of a lawyer if you are sued after an accident.

Insurance Penalties: SR-22 and FR-44

In Florida, you may be required to purchase additional car insurance if you’ve been in a car accident or you’ve had certain traffic violation convictions.

SR-22 in Florida

Certain incidents or violations may require you to carry an SR-22 certification, which mandates that you purchase bodily injury liability, or BIL, car insurance on top of the basic Florida car insurance requirements.

You will have to carry an SR-22 for 3 years IF:

  • You are involved in a car accident that causes injuries or property damage.
  • You have had your driver’s license suspended due to excessive traffic violation points.
  • Your driver’s license has been habitually revoked.

If you are found guilty of driving without car insurance, you may have to carry a 6-month non-cancelable SR-22 for up to 2 years. A 6-month non-cancelable SR-22 requires you to pay your entire premium up front each time you renew your policy.

FR-44 in Florida

If you are convicted of a DUI in Florida, you may be required to purchase additional insurance and file an FR-44 form as proof of that coverage. FR-44 certificates are required when a driver has been convicted of a DUI and did not hold the following amounts of coverage for bodily injury liability and property damage liability insurance on the date of the arrest:

  • $100,000 for injuries to any one person.
  • $300,000 for injuries to all people in one accident.
  • $50,000 for property damage liability (PDL).

If you are subject to the FR-44 requirement, you will need to add BIL and PDL coverage to your policy, with the minimums shown above.

You must have your FR-44 for at least 3 years from the date of suspension.

Driving under the influence is not only dangerous, but it can also be extremely costly. Stay safe and keep your car insurance premiums down.

The Most Stolen Cars In Florida

Driving a car that is known to be a target for car theft may increase your car insurance premium.

  1. Ford Pickup (Full Size).
  2. Honda Civic.
  3. Honda Accord.
  4. Nissan Altima.
  5. Toyota Camry.
  6. Toyota Corolla.
  7. Nissan Maxima.
  8. Chevrolet Pickup (Full Size).
  9. Dodge Pickup (Full Size).
  10. Dodge Caravan.

Cheap Car Insurance in Florida

Need affordable Florida automobile insurance? Whether you live in Jacksonville, Miami, Tampa, St. Petersburg, Hialeah, Tallahassee, Fort Lauderdale, or Orlando you can obtain up to ten rate quotes from top providers in your area through AutoInsuranceEZ.com. Prices vary by company and you should compare prices thoroughly before you purchase a policy. We’ll help you find the coverage to meet your needs.

Florida Auto Insurance – Average Premiums

The state average for car insurance in Florida is about $170 each month. However, that rate can vary significantly depending on where you live. In some Florida cities, your monthly premiums could be as low as $60/month, or as high as $265 monthly. Your zip code is the main factor which will determine your rate based on where you park your car at night.